News Release


Release: Contact:

Christine Morganti
(505) 797-6028

Professor Alfred D. Mathewson Named 2009 Business Lawyer of the Year

Albuquerque, N.M. – The board of directors of the Business Law Section awarded UNM School of Law Professor Alfred D. Mathewson its 2009 Business Lawyer of the Year Award. Mathewson was recognized for his pivotal role in developing the UNM School of Law’s Business and Tax Clinic and for his related scholarship, teaching and service. The clinic provides legal assistance to many low to mid-level income entrepreneurs and other community members who are seeking to create new business opportunities, plan their estates, settle disputes with the IRS or obtain assistance during a financial crisis. Board members (in picture below with Professor Mathewson) are Susan McCormack, Robert Simon, Gordon Little, Evan Hobbs, Robert Gorman, Dylan O’Reilly, and James Bozarth. The award was presented at a reception Nov. 6 at the State Bar Center.

Professor Alfred D. Mathewson with Business Law Section Board of Directors

The State Bar of New Mexico was organized in 1886 and is composed of more than 8500 members. Its purposes are to aid the courts in administering justice and preserving the rule of law, and to foster a high standard of integrity and competence within the legal profession.