News Release


Release: Contact:

Christine Morganti
(505) 797-6028

New State Bar Members Take Oath in Santa Fe

The 2009 spring swearing-in ceremony for 85 new members of the State Bar took place April 27 at the James A. Little Theater in Santa Fe. Remarks were offered by State Bar Secretary-Treasurer Hans Voss; YLD Chair Martha Chicoski; Briggs Cheney, who represented the Lawyers Assistance Committee; and Mary Torres, New Mexico delegate to the American Bar Association. Chair of the New Mexico Board of Bar Examiners David Chacon introduced each inductee to the court. Following tradition, the Justices of the New Mexico Supreme Court delivered welcoming remarks and personal challenges to the new attorneys.