News Release


Release: Contact:

Christine Morganti
(505) 797-6028

Roehl Announces 2009 Circle of Honor Inductees

Albuquerque, N.M. – The Roehl Circle of Honor for Trial Lawyers inducted Jackson Akin, Stephen Durkovich, Don McCormick (posthumously) and Norman Thayer as new members at a recognition ceremony at the State Bar Center Nov. 19.

Jackson Akin, now retired, enjoyed a stellar career representing large companies in a variety of lawsuits, including the Clovis Botulism cases. He is a founding partner of Rodey, Dickason, Sloan, Akin & Robb, one of the state’s largest law firms.

Stephen Durkovich specializes in medical malpractice cases and achieved one of the state’s largest jury verdicts ever in a lawsuit against a Roswell hospital last year. Durkovich practices in Santa Fe.

Don McCormick practiced law for over 40 years in Carlsbad where he built the leading law firm in that part of the state and was widely admired for his professionalism. McCormick died in 1986.

Norman Thayer has been involved in several significant lawsuits, mainly involving commercial and business disputes, as well as a civil rights damages suit against the National Guard for attacks on innocent bystanders at the UNM campus in 1970. Thayer is the senior partner of Sutin, Thayer & Browne in Albuquerque.

The Circle of Honor recognizes those trial lawyers in New Mexico who are, or have been, the very best as proven over many years. Previous inductees are Frank Allen, Harry Bigbee, Bill Carpenter, Richard Civerolo, Gene Gallegos, Richard Gerding, Bruce Hall, Ken Harrigan, George Harris, Harold Hensley, Bryan Johnson, Russell Jones, Henry Kiker, Bill Kitts, Ross Malone, Bill Marchiondo, Ranne Miller, Seth Montgomery, Russell Moore, J.W. Neal, Melvin Neal, Arturo Ortega, Richard Ransom, James Ritchie, Gill Shaffer, John F. Simms, William Sloan, Joseph Smith, Bill Snead, Lowell Stout and Matias Zamora.

The Roehl Circle of Honor for Trial Lawyers was established in 1998 at the State Bar Center by Jerrald J. Roehl in memory of his father, Joseph E. Roehl, a prominent trial lawyer.

Roehl Circle of Honor Recipients

The State Bar of New Mexico was organized in 1886 and is composed of more than 8500 members. Its purposes are to aid the courts in administering justice and preserving the rule of law, and to foster a high standard of integrity and competence within the legal profession.