News Release


Release: Contact:

Christine Morganti
(505) 797-6028

State Bar of New Mexico Elects 2011 Officers

Albuquerque, N.M. – The State Bar of New Mexico recently elected officers and new members to the 2011 Board of Bar Commissioners. The 22-member governing board of the State Bar develops policies, procedures and regulations; monitors financial performance, programs and services; and serves as advocates for the State Bar. Bar Commissioners attend approximately six BBC meetings per year (with up to three meetings outside of Albuquerque) and participate in State Bar committees and other events.

Chief Justice of the New Mexico Supreme Court Charles W. Daniels administered the oath of office Dec. 6 in the Supreme Court Chambers in Santa Fe.

2011 Officers

Jessica Perez, 2011 State Bar President

President Jessica A. Pérez is a native of Bernalillo where she practiced for five years with her father, former District Court Judge George Pérez, her brother Christopher, and her mother Veronica, their paralegal. She is currently employed as a field representative for U.S. Senator Jeff Bingaman, primarily handling health care policy and issues. Pérez was previously employed as an assistant attorney general and as an analyst for the New Mexico State Senate. A Bar Commissioner since 2003, she is past chair of the Personnel Committee and a member of the Bylaws and Policies, Annual Meeting Planning, Bench and Bar Relations, Finance, and Governmental Affairs committees. She is also the current president of the Sandoval County Bar Association. Pérez received a B.A. in political science from the University of Nevada-Las Vegas and a. J. D. from Creighton University in Omaha, Nebraska. Pérez and husband Al Park have one daughter. Pérez represents the 3rd Bar Commissioner District.


Hans Voss

President-Elect Hans, through the Voss Law Firm, maintains a general civil practice in Las Cruces and throughout the state representing plaintiffs, businesses and governmental entities. He was born, raised and educated in Los Alamos (LAHS 1983). He is an alumnus of the University of New Mexico (J.D. 1998); M.A. in economics 1994; B.A. in economics 1992; and A.S. in engineering 1991). He is participating in the ABA Tort, Trial and Insurance Practice Section’s Leadership Academy and is also the president of the State Bar Foundation, a commissioner on the Access to Justice Committee, vice chair of the ABA Government Law Section, and a fellow of the American Bar Foundation. In addition, he is a member of the SBNM Executive Committee, the Policy and Bylaws Committee, the Governmental Affairs Committee and is the BBC liaison to the Uniform Jury Instruction Committee (civil) and the Appellate Rules Committee. Voss is the proud father of Kaila Naomi Voss. He also represents the 7th Bar Commissioner District.


Andrew Cloutier

Vice President Andrew J. (Drew) Cloutier is a partner in the Roswell office of Hinkle, Hensley, Shanor & Martin LLP. He has practiced law for 23 years, primarily in the areas of oil and gas, commercial, and complex litigation. He is a 1987 graduate of the University of Texas School of Law and received a B.A. from the University of Dallas in 1984. Cloutier is licensed to practice law in New Mexico and Texas. He is a review officer for the Disciplinary Board, a member of the Rules of Civil Procedure Committee, and was previously a director of the Bankruptcy Law Section. He presently serves as president of the Sidney Gutierrez Middle School Foundation, on the executive board of the Conquistador Boy Scout Council, and as scoutmaster of Boy Scout Troop 149. Drew and his wife, Carrie-Leigh, have three sons. Cloutier also represents the 6th Bar Commissioner District.


Erika Anderson

Secretary-Treasurer Erika Anderson received her undergraduate degree from the University of Colorado in 1992, her Masters in Counseling from UNM in 1995 and her J.D. from the UNM School of Law in 2001. She has worked for the law firms of Robles, Rael & Anaya PC and Long, Pound & Komer PA. She does civil litigation, primarily involving civil rights, employment, business and personal injury law. Anderson also clerked for eight judges in the 5th Judicial District and for the Honorable Gene Franchini and the Honorable Richard C. Bosson on the New Mexico Supreme Court. She served on the board of directors for the Young Lawyers Division and was president in 2007. She also served on the board of directors for the 1st Judicial District Bar Association and was president in 2008. Anderson also serves on several BBC committees, including the Governmental Affairs Committee, the Policies and Bylaws Committee and the Awards Committee. Anderson also represents the 1st Bar Commissioner District.


The State Bar of New Mexico was organized in 1886 and is composed of more than 8500 members. Its purposes are to aid the courts in administering justice and preserving the rule of law, and to foster a high standard of integrity and competence within the legal profession.