News Release


Date: Contact:


Dec. 9, 2011
Christine Morganti, (505) 797-6028

State Bar of New Mexico Elects 2012 Officers

Albuquerque, N.M. – The State Bar of New Mexico recently elected officers and new members to the 2012 Board of Bar Commissioners. The 22-member governing board of the State Bar develops policies, procedures and regulations; monitors financial performance, programs and services; and serves as advocates for the State Bar. Bar Commissioners attend approximately six BBC meetings per year (with up to three meetings outside of Albuquerque) and participate in State Bar committees and other events.

Chief Justice of the New Mexico Supreme Court Charles W. Daniels administered the oath of office Dec. 7 in the Supreme Court Chambers in Santa Fe.

2011 Officers
President Hans Voss, through the Voss Law Firm, maintains a general civil practice in Las Cruces and throughout the state representing plaintiffs, businesses and governmental entities. He was born, raised and educated in Los Alamos (LAHS 1983). He is an alumnus of the University of New Mexico (J.D. 1998); M.A. in economics 1994; B.A. in economics 1992; and A.S. in engineering 1991). He is participating in the ABA Tort, Trial and Insurance Practice Section’s Leadership Academy and is also the president of the State Bar Foundation, a commissioner on the Access to Justice Committee, vice chair of the ABA Government Law Section, and a fellow of the American Bar Foundation. In addition, he is a member of the SBNM Executive Committee, the Policy and Bylaws Committee, the Governmental Affairs Committee and is the BBC liaison to the Uniform Jury Instruction Committee (civil) and the Appellate Rules Committee. He also represents the 7th Bar Commissioner District.

President-Elect Andrew J. (Drew) Cloutier is a partner in the Roswell office of Hinkle, Hensley, Shanor & Martin LLP. He has practiced law for 24 years, primarily in the areas of oil and gas, commercial, and complex litigation. He is a 1987 graduate of the University of Texas School of Law and received a B.A. from the University of Dallas in 1984. Cloutier is licensed to practice law in New Mexico and Texas. He is a review officer for the Disciplinary Board, a member of the Rules of Civil Procedure Committee, and was previously a director of the Bankruptcy Law Section. He presently serves as president of the Sidney Gutierrez Middle School Foundation, on the executive board of the Conquistador Boy Scout Council, and as scoutmaster of Boy Scout Troop 149.

Vice President Erika E. Anderson is a partner at Park & Anderson, LLC. Ms. Anderson specializes in civil litigation involving governmental liability, civil rights, personal injury, general tort liability and employment litigation. Ms. Anderson graduated from the University of Colorado, Boulder with a Bachelor’s Degree in psychology. She then received her Master’s in Counseling from the University of New Mexico in 1995 and worked as a counselor for adolescents and their families for four years. Ms. Anderson received her Juris Doctor from the University of New Mexico School of Law in 2001. Upon completion of law school, Ms. Anderson clerked for the eight judges in the Fifth Judicial District for the State of New Mexico. She then clerked for the Honorable Gene Franchini and the Honorable Richard C. Bosson on the New Mexico Supreme Court. Ms. Anderson is currently serving as the Past-President of the New Mexico Women’s Bar Association, the Vice-President of the New Mexico Board of Bar Commissioners and as the Newsletter Editor for the American Bar Association Tort, Trial, Insurance and Practice Section Trial Techniques Committee.

Secretary-Treasurer Martha Chicoski has a wide range of litigation experience in both civil and criminal law. In August 2010, she founded Chicoski Law Firm LLC. She currently serves as immediate past chair of the State Bar Young Lawyers Division. Chicoski also represents the lst Bar Commissioner District. She is treasurer and president-elect of the New Mexico Women’s Bar Association board of directors. Chicoski received a J.D. from Suffolk University Law School and a B.A. in criminal justice from George Washington University. She is admitted to practice in New Mexico and Massachusetts, as well as in the United States District Court for the District of New Mexico.

The State Bar of New Mexico was organized in 1886 and is composed of more than 8500 members. Its purposes are to aid the courts in administering justice and preserving the rule of law, and to foster a high standard of integrity and competence within the legal profession.