Section Navigation
  • For more information or to become involved with any committee, please contact the chair of the respective committee


Indian Law Section

Section Committees and Activities

For more information or to become involved with any committee, please contact the chair of the respective committee.

Continuing Legal Education

The CLE Committee is responsible for planning and organizing CLE courses sponsored by the State
Bar of New Mexico and/or the Indian Law Section. The CLE events for 2013 will be announced soon.

Chair: Autumn Monteau


Outreach and Recruiting

The Outreach & Recruiting Committee was created to increase section membership and participation in section events.

Chair: Delilah Choneska


Bar Preparation Scholarship

The Bar Preparation Scholarship was established to help defray the costs of bar examination application fees and preparation courses for third-year UNM law students who intend to take the New Mexico Bar and practice Indian Law.

The Bar Preparation Scholarship co-chairs are:

Natasha Cuylear
Delilah Tenorio


Congratulations 2014 Indian Law Section
Bar Preparation Scholarship Recipients


2014 Indian Law Section Scholarship Winners


Left to right:

    Santee Lewis, Aaron Sims, Stephanie Salazar, Melissa Candelaria, and Tracy Goodluck


cake at ILS Scholarship presentation


ILS BOD, Scholarship Winners and NALSA President


Left to right:

Indian Law Section board members: Josette Monett, Autumn Monteau, Chair, Delilah Tenorio, Denise Hosay, and Natasha Cuylear. Scholarship winners: Santee Lewis, Stephanie Salazar, Aaron Sims, Melissa Candelaria, and Tracy Goodluck NALSA President: Veronica Hill



2013 -  Ms. LeeAnne Kane and Mr. Leland Begay

2011 -  Ms. Natasha Cuylear and Ms. JoEtta Toppah

2010 -  Ms. Veronique Richardson and Ms. Selesia Winston

2009 – Ms. Alicia Sanasac and Mr. Aaron Choneska

2008 – Ms. Gertrude Lee, Ms. Carrie Martell and Mr. Jonathan Tsosie
2007 – Ms. Nelissa Kennedy
2006 – Mr. Casey Douma and Ms. Suzanne Martinez

Thanks to following Bar Preparation Scholarship Donors

1st Judicial District Bar Association (2007)

Appleby Law PLLC (2011)

Diandra D. Benally (2011)
Marianne Bettinger (2011)
Dean Burbridge (2010)
Rodina Cave (2011)

Chestnut Law Offices (2006 and 2009)
Cuddy, Kennedy, Albetta & Ives, LLP (2006, 2007, 2008)
Cuddy & McCarthy LLP (2011)
Dr. Robert A. Currier (2007)

M.P. Gross Law Firm, P.C. (2011)

Mr. Robert Gruenig (2007)

Ellen R. Kemper (2011)

Laguna Development Corporation (2010)

Leubben, Johnson & Barnhouse, LLP -
(2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2011)
Long, Pound & Komer, PA (2007)
Modrall Sperling (2006, 2007, 2010 and 2011)
Nordhaus, Haltom, Taylor, Taradash & Bladh, LLP -

(2006, 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2011)
Pueblo of Acoma (2007)
Pueblo of Sandia (2006 and 2007)
Rothstein, Donatelli, Hughes, Dahlstrom,
Schoenberg & Bienvenu, LLP (2006 and 2008)
State Bar Young Lawyers Division (2007)

Stetson Law Office (2010)
Sutin, Thayer & Brown (2008, 2009, 2010 and 2011)

Dean Kevin Washburn (2010)

John D. Wheeler & Associates (2008)

The ILS continues to accept tax-deductible donations throughout the year. Please
send your check as follows:

Payable to: Indian Law Section Bar Preparation Scholarship

Mail to: State Bar of New Mexico, 5121 Masthead NE
Albuquerque, NM 87109

Now accepting applications!


Natasha Cuylear
Delilah Tenorio



Newsletter & Media

The Newsletter & Media Committee is responsible for publishing The Indian Times newsletter
and maintaining the section website.

Chair: Stevie Nichols




Indian Law Section


Board of Directors

Bar Preparation Scholarship Donations


Section Committees and Activities


Newsletter/Articles of Interest

Tribal Courts and Government

Join the Section

Annual Reports and Past Activities

Membership Roster

Indian Law Home