Section Navigation
  • i

    The Public Lawyer of the Year Award is presented to a lawyer who has had a distinguished career in public service.


Public Lawyer of the Year Awards


Since 1996, the Public Law Section has presented the annual Public Lawyer Award to lawyers who have had distinguished careers in public service and who are not likely to be recognized for their contributions. The ceremony is held at the State Capitol in conjunction with Law Day ceremonies.

2009 Public Lawyer of the Year

Gerald McBride was honored for his many years of dedicated service to the state’s most vulnerable adults through his work at the Adult Protective Services Division of the New Mexico Aging and Long-Term Services and its predecessors. McBride protected and improved countless lives and inspired those who worked alongside him.

McBride and Presenters

Al Lama, Gerald McBride, Justice Petra Jimenez Maes, and State Bar Vice President Jessica Perez

Gerald McBride and Justice Petra Jiminez Maes

Gerald McBride and Justice Petra Jimenez Maes

Gerald McBride and Social Workers

Gerald F. McBride and Clare Kosmicki, Supervisor Sue Buckner, Social Worker Laura Nguyen, Social Worker Dawn M. Taylor, Social Worker Nadine Byram, Social Worker Phyllis Turner, Social Worker Jennifer Encinias, Case Worker

Gerald McBride with office staff

Gerald McBride with his office staff:

Kathryn Colbert, Assistant General Council, Tony Louderbough, Deputy Director, Kathleen Hart, Division Director, Ana Marie Ortiz, General Council, Jane Yee, Assistant General Council, Cindy Padilla, Cabinet Secretary, Peggy Jeffers, Assistant General Council


Past Award Recipients

Past Recipients of the Public Lawyer of the Year Award

Past Recipients of the Public Lawyer of the Year Award (Left to Right):

Florenceruth Brown , Gerald McBride, Frank Weissbarth, and Clark de Schweinitz


2008 - Clark de Schweinitz was recognized for his long and dedicated service to low-income residents of northern New Mexico as an attorney with the Santa Fe office of New Mexico Legal Aid. He was also recognized for his leadership role in the community, and his years of public service working to improve the lives of New Mexico residents.

2007 - Stuart M. Bluestone
Chief Deputy Attorney General Stuart M. Bluestone was recognized for a career dedicated to public service. He served in four attorney general's administrations and was the top deputy in the AG's office for the vast majority of that time. In that capacity, he was critically involved in numerous legal and administrative decisions affecting the state. Additionally, he assisted in training several attorneys, many of whom subsequently served in important public service positions. Aside from his work at the AG’s office, Bluestone worked for several years as an attorney with the legislative council service, ultimately as deputy director. He also served as chair of the board of directors of New Mexico Legal Aid.

2006 - Frank D. Weissbarth
Frank Weissbarth was recognized for his dedicated service as an Assistant Attorney General specializing in the areas of consumer protection and subdivision law.

2005 -  Paul L. Biderman
Paul Biderman was recognized for his dedication to public service and public interest law through his service as legal services attorney, as a government lawyer, as a consumer advocate, as cabinet secretary and finally as a leader at the UNM School of Law Institute of Public Law. 

2004 - Robert M. White
Bob White was recognized for his leadership and expertise in the areas of local government law and land use law.  White has served as the long-time Albuquerque City Attorney, as an Albuquerque City Councilor and as a leader of state and national municipal attorney organizations. 

2003 - Peter T. White
Peter White was recognized for his years of dedicated service as General Counsel for the State Engineer along with his service to community groups concerning water rights after his retirement.

2002 - Jerry Richardson
Jerry Richardson was recognized for his service as chief hearing officer for the New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department. In addition to deciding administrative protests in tax matters, Richardson was responsible for oversight of license revocation hearings under the New Mexico Implied Consent Act. In addition to his long career as a public lawyer, Richardson played an active role in the community. He was a founding member of the Friends of the Palace, a support group for the Palace of the Governors Museum. Richardson was a member of the Board of Trustees for the Museum of New Mexico Foundation, serving as chair from 1994-1996. He also spent 10 years on the Public Employees Retirement Board and was chair of the board from 1992-1995.

2001 - Mary McInerny
Mary McInerny was recognized for her distinguished career in the public sector including service at the New Mexico Attorney General's Office, as the Financial Institutions Division Director, as a member of the Public Utility Commission and as County Attorney and County Administrator for Los Alamos County.

2000 - Nick Estes
Nick Estes was recognized for his dedicated and distinguished service as an attorney with the U.S. Department of Justice, the Albuquerque City Attorney's Office and as University Counsel for the University of New Mexico.

1999 - Marty Daly
Marty Daly was recognized for her distinguished career as a public lawyer, serving as an Assistant District Attorney, the Appellate Public Defender and as an Assistant Attorney General.

1998 - Douglas Meiklejohn
Doug Meiklejohn was recognized both as the pioneering founder of the New Mexico Environmental Law Center and for his dedicated service at the New Mexico Attorney General's Office.

1997 - Frank Katz
Frank Katz was recognized for his leadership as the long-serving General Counsel at the New Mexico Taxation & Revenue Department. Katz also served as a Deputy Attorney General.

1996 - Florenceruth Brown
Florenceruth Brown was recognized for her leadership and service as General Counsel for the New Mexico Health and Environment Department, and for her pioneering role as a female attorney in northern New Mexico.

Award Criteria

Each year in January and February, a selection committee (consisting of the past 3 Chairs of the Public Law Section) solicit and review nominations for the Award. The Committee accepts nominations from the public and may also consider nominees from previous years.

The following are factors that will be considered in making this award. An applicant need not meet all of these criteria. The work or service recognized by the award must have occurred in New Mexico. A candidate must be admitted to practice law in New Mexico but does not have to be a member of the Public Law Section to be eligible.

  1. Significant length of service in government, which does not have to be continuous, or for one specific employer or for work as an attorney.
  2. Excellence as an attorney/advisor and/or advocate.
  3. Training or education of the public or bar concerning public issues; mentorship for junior attorneys in the public sector.
  4. Role model for other public lawyers.
  5. Involvement in one particularly difficult or important case or negotiation that significantly advanced a governmental policy or purpose.
  6. Service to social welfare organizations, charitable institutions or nonprofit entities connected with the practice or enhancement of an area of public law.
  7. Advocacy of or work on issues or legislation of importance in the public sector, such as open meetings and public records, public procurement and administrative procedures.
  8. A lawyer who is not likely to be recognized for his or her outstanding work as a public lawyer.
  9. A lawyer whose personal character and dedication to public law and public service furthers the integrity and repute of the legal profession.




Public Law Section

Board of Directors


Lawyer Awards

Join the Section

Membership Roster

Public Law Home