Q. How do I report my change of address?
A: Both the NM Supreme Court and the Bar need to be notified of address changes within 30 days of the change. An Address of Record and a Street address are both needed. Changes need to be report in writing by one of the following:
You may use an automated form which is emailed to both the Supreme Court and the Bar
You may fax both the NM Supreme Court (505) 827-4837 & State Bar of New Mexico (505) 828-3765
You may mail your change of address to:
Clerk of the Supreme Court, PO Box 848, Santa Fe, NM 87504 and
State Bar of New Mexico, Change of Address, PO Box 92860, Albuquerque, NM 87199
Q. Can I have different mailing, directory and Web site addresses?
A: Yes, you may have a different mailing address other than your address of record.
Q. Can I keep my address of record out of the directory/Web site?
A: No. The address of record will be published in the directory and on the web site. There are no exceptions.
Q. Can I limit State Bar or third-party mailings?
A: Yes. We can insure you get no mail from the State Bar or third parties who use the State Bar files for mailing. Alternatively, we can restrict your information from going to third parties but still have you get mail from the State Bar.
Q. How do I inform you that my name has changed?
A: Advise the Supreme Court. The name of record will not change until the Supreme Court publishes the new name information in a certificate. This can take up to two months. In the meantime, you should use your old name for official purposes. The Bar’s cross-reference record will direct inquiries to the current name of record.
Q. How do I stop my subscription to the Bar Bulletin?
A: Just contact us at email@example.com.
Q. I do not have an address that I can permit to be made public. What should I do?
A: Obtain a post office box. There must be an address of record for each member.
Q. I have different summer and winter addresses. Can this be accommodated?
A: Yes. Just provide the dates you want mailings to change.
To order a replacement bar card please furnish your name, address, and bar id. Please allow two to four weeks to receive a replacement Bar Card. Send your request to: firstname.lastname@example.org,
fax 505-828-3755, or State Bar of New Mexico, PO Box 92860, Albuquerque, NM 87199.
Q: I have been asked for a Certificate of Good Standing. How do I obtain this document?
A: Certificates of Good Standing are issued by the New Mexico Supreme Court, and state that a member is in good standing. Any past disciplinary action or suspension is noted on the Certificate of Good Standing. Call (505) 827-4860 or write the Supreme Court Clerk (email@example.com ) to request this document. The charge for a Certificate of Good Standing is $1.00.
Q: I have been asked to get a Statement of Discipline. How does this differ from a Certificate of Good Standing, and where do I get this document?
A: A Statement of Discipline is similar to a Certificate of Good Standing in that it notes any disciplinary action taken against an attorney, but it is obtained from the Disciplinary Board at a cost of $10. The Statement of Discipline is required by some states when applying to take the bar exam or for admission on motion. This document needs to be requested in writing and the attorney will need to waive his/her right to confidentiality. You may contact the Disciplinary Board at (505) 842-5781. This report can only be requested by the practicing attorney or by persons/entities who provide the practicing attorney's waiver.
Q: I have been asked for a Letter of Membership. From whom do I request this letter?
A: A Letter of Membership can be obtained from the State Bar of New Mexico. Call (505) 797-6000, write or email firstname.lastname@example.org to request this document. A Letter of Membership states when a member was admitted to the Bar and their current membership status. This may be required by other states when applying to take the bar exam. This letter can only be requested by the practicing attorney.
Q: Do you have a emeritus status?
A: Yes, according to Section 2.10 Legal Service Provider Limited Law License for Emeritus and Non-Admitted Attorneys in the State Bar's Bylaws, an emeritus status is available. It states:
An attorney granted a legal services limited license pursuant to Rule 15-301.2 NMRA shall be a member of the State Bar of New Mexico and shall be subject to the Rules of Professional Conduct and the Rules Governing Discipline. Licensees shall pay a reduced annual State Bar membership fee of one hundred dollars, consisting of a State Bar services fee of fifty dollars and a disciplinary fee of fifty dollars in lieu of the fee required by Rule 17-203 NMRA. For more information call the NM Supreme Court at (505) 827-4860
Q: How do I qualify for a Fee Waiver?
A: See specific requirements.
Q. What does inactive status mean?
A: Inactive status is for those members who are eligible for active status but are not currently practicing law in New Mexico and have completed an application for inactive status. There are no continuing legal education requirements during the time you are on the inactive status. Membership fees are $100 per year. An inactive status application is available online or by calling the the State Bar Finance department at (505) 797-6015.
Q: How do I transfer back to active status in the future?
A: To become an active member, you'll need to receive authorization from the Board of Bar Examiners, the application can be found on their website at www.nmexam.org . They'll check your continuing legal education records and determine whether you'll be required to complete a prior-year deficit. At the time of activation, you'll need to pay additional State Bar dues and Disciplinary Board assessments to bring you up to the active level of payment. Once activated you will again be subject to the continuing legal education requirements.
Q: I'm moving out of New Mexico. Do I need to change my membership?
A: If you'll be leaving New Mexico, there are a few things you should take care of. The first thing you should do is contact the State Bar and the Supreme Court to change your address, both mailing and physical. This will ensure delivery of important mailings such as your annual license statement and your continuing legal education mailings. You will also want to determine whether inactive or active status is best for you. Many members retain active status to keep their option of practicing in New Mexico available at all times. This can be done by paying the active license each year and complying with the minimum continuing legal education requirements.
Q: What if I don't pay my mandatory fees?
A: If you don't pay the annual mandatory fees, your license in New Mexico would be suspended and you would no longer be eligible to practice in this state without first reinstating your license by paying double your back fees plus a $100 late fee. This suspension is also recorded on your permanent file and does have to be disclosed when applying for licenses in other states.
Q: What if I want to remain a member but I'm having trouble paying my license?
A:The Supreme Court requires all members to pay annual fees each January 1st. Members should plan for this yearly payment to avoid the possibility of suspension for nonpayment of fees. We accept credit card payments. If you contact us by January 1, we are able to give you payment plan options. If you're still unable to pay the fees, you should contact the State Bar regarding a possible hardship provision. The Board of Bar Commissioners will review any hardship cases and possibly make provisions where there are extreme circumstances.
Q: When are the Annual Membership and License Fees due?
A: Every member of the State Bar shall, prior to the first day of January of each year, pay to the Executive Director of the State Bar an annual license fee. Active members whose dues are received after the first day of February will be assessed a late payment penalty of one hundred dollars ($100). Inactive members whose dues are received after the first day of February will be assessed a late payment penalty of fifty dollars ($50).
Q: How much are my License Fees?
A: The annual license fees for active and inactive status members shall be determined and fixed by the Board and approved by the Supreme Court prior to January of each calendar year.
Q: Do I get any discount from my dues when I become a new member of the New Mexico Bar?
A: There is a discount for the first and second year attorneys, who have practiced less than two years in any jurisdiction.
Q: Does the State Bar of New Mexico have reciprocity?
A: Yes. For more information regarding which states we share
reciprocity with and the Rules & Requirements you can find the
answers at www.nmexam.org.
Q: If I am suspended for nonpayment of dues, how am I reinstated?
A: Any member suspended because of nonpayment of license fees or penalties shall be required to petition the Board of Bar Examiners for reinstatement www.nmexam.org, and as a condition precedent to any granting of reinstatement shall be required to pay a reinstatement fee of:
A. twice that member's then license fee, plus
B. fees in arrears, plus
C. accrued late penalty payments.
Q: I'm thinking about giving up my New Mexico license. What do I need to do?
A: As of December 31, 2016, a new rule went into effect, that if you do
decide to come back from withdrawn status, you will need to go through
the Board of Bar Examiners and either retake the bar exam or come in
through the reciprocity rule. If you've considered all of the options available, such as inactive status, and you still feel that you would like to give up your license, the proper method is to voluntarily resign. This requires notifying the NM Supreme Court and the Bar in writing of your intent, which will then allow you to relinquish your New Mexico license without the suspension that would occur if you simply chose not to pay your mandatory fees. You may email the Supreme Court at email@example.com and also cc firstname.lastname@example.org . Please give us your current mailing address.